Skip to content

Overview of 4Cs Child Care Payment Programs

The child care payment programs (CAPP, CalWORKs Stage One, 2, 3 and Foster Care) are designed to provide full or partial reimbursement of child care services on behalf of eligible families.

The goal of these programs are to assist and promote the health, growth, care, development and education of children in Alameda County by providing child care, while the children’s parents continue their employment, education, welfare-to-work activities, or other need for services such as seeking employment, seeking permanent housing, incapacitation or child protective services.

Eligibility is based on income and need for child care services. The current available programs are CalWORKs Stage One, 2, and 3 and Alternative Payment. The state and Alameda County contract with 4Cs to administer these programs in our community.

Eligibility and Contact Information

Hayward Office (South County Residents)

(Hayward, Castro Valley, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Union City, Newark and Fremont)
(510) 244-0980

  • CalWORKs Stage One
  • CalWORKs Stage 2
  • CalWORKs Stage 3
  • California Alternative Payment Program
  • County California Alternative Payment Program
  • County Foster Care Program
Oakland Office (Oakland Residents)

(510) 244-0966

  • Alternative Payment Program (CAPP)
  • CalWORKs Stage 2
  • CalWORKs Stage 3
Additional Options and Information

Parents living in Southern Alameda County wanting additional information on subsidized child care options can contact the 4Cs Resource and Referral department at (510) 244-0506 or visit our Tip Sheet on How Do I Get Help Paying for Child Care? (PDF). Not located in Southern Alameda County? Find your local Resource and Referral agency here for more information.

Currently a parent on 4Cs Child Care Payment Assistance Program? You can find important forms and documents here.

Sign up Now for 4Cs of Alameda County’s Online Child Care Payment Assistance Eligibility List 

Prefer to print and fill out an application? Download eligibility form in English (PDF) and Spanish (PDF) for child care payment assistance programs. 

IMPORTANT: By adding your name and information to 4Cs’ Eligibility List, you are letting our team know that you are in need of child care payment assistance. Enrollment on 4Cs child care payment programs is based on our team’s assessment of family eligibility (including looking at family size, income, and other factors) NOT by how long you have been waiting.  Those who show greater need will be prioritized as funding becomes available. Our staff will contact you if a slot becomes available for your child so please be sure your contact information is accurate before submitting the E-list form.

By Statute:
Admission Priorities [WIC 10271 (b)(2)
Families are ranked for enrollment in accordance with the guidelines set by the State of California. Admission priorities are as follows:
• Priority 1 – Children receiving child protective services or children at risk of abuse or neglect.
• Priority 2 – Income Eligible in relation to family size and income.
* Within Priority 2, if two or more families are in the same priority in relation to income, then enrollment shall occur as follows:
I – A family with a child with exceptional needs
II – A family whose home language is other than English

Description of Programs

CalWORKs Programs

CalWORKs Stage One

Parents new to the CalWORKs program usually referred to our agency from the County Welfare Department. 4Cs can provide child care services to families who live in Southern Alameda County.

CalWORKs Stage 2

Parents are either still receiving cash aid or have been discontinued from aid within the previous 24 months. Families must live in Southern Alameda County or Oakland and can transfer from Stage 1 or another Stage 2 agency.

CalWORKs Stage 3

If funding is available, parents transition from a CalWORKs Stage 1 or Stage 2 program on the first day of the 25th month after discontinuance from aid. Families must live in Oakland or Southern Alameda County.

California Alternative Payment Programs (CAPP)

The California Alternative Payment Programs (CAPP) assists low-to-moderate income families to become economically self-sufficient by assisting them with their child care cost so they can work, go to school, seek employment, seek permanent housing, or if the child is receiving Child Protective Services or identified as at risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation.

County Foster Care Program

This program is designed for Foster Parents to assist them with a portion of the cost of care. These families are referred by the County. Parents must reside in Southern Alameda County.

County California Alternative Payment Program

This program is designed for families who are referred to 4Cs directly by the County. The children are receiving Child Protective Services or identified as at risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation. Parents must reside in Southern Alameda County.

Back To Top